Posted by: 지인 | 23 January 2008

Breathless

I’m back from a 2-week trip to the mainland, but my brain still seems frozen, so please allow me to ease back into the blogosphere with plenty of mental padding. Thanks.

I guess a week in the Midwestern January deep-freeze wasn’t a shining example of intelligent planning on my part, but you’ve got to take it when you can get it, and this was when I could get it. So I took it.

(I am never going back to the Midwest in the winter again!)

Between the Yobo A. and myself, we lost a whopping $4 in Vegas. Four whole dollars we’ll never see again! But you know, the first step is admitting that you have a problem.

If it had been up to me, we would have cashed out when we were up $5, but Yobo was feeling lucky. Usually, I know better than to listen to him, but I slipped. Lesson learned.

Somewhere between the secondhand smoke and wastage of Vegas and the subzero, take-your-breath-away temps and brain-freezing agony of the Midwest, however, I managed to squeeze in some very brief (too brief!) but worthwhile visits with some wonderful people, including old friends, young friends (Hah! Sort that one out yourselves, my dear ladies and gents.) and friends I had not met yet.

In fact, I count a total of five lovely and outstanding bloggers whose face-to-face acquaintance I made for the first time this trip, though their friendship and kinship had been there for quite some time before. What fun!

(But next time, I think you should all come here, because this body has gone soft and can no longer handle that hardcore winter torture.)

Well met, friends. Well met!

Responses

  1. I wish we could have welcomed you under different weather conditions. Of course wouldn’t you know it, this weekend we’re expecting a heat wave. . .the 30 degree weather will feel absolutely balmy compared to the frigid temps you had to endure.

    It was so awesome to meet you. . .I’m still full from that meal. 🙂

    Hope to see you again later this year for the mini.

  2. Oh how quickly how one raised in a winter climate forgets the cold after living in the tropics for a few short years. ;-P

    Glad that you had a good time! I don’t know what I’m more jealous of, you getting to see all the midwestern bloggers and attending the mini or getting to return to your warm sunny state.

  3. hahaha.. Truly well met. I wish I were able to sit down and have a sane conversation with you but a certain 2 year old kept me too busy! Really, we should all meet again chez vous. TOO COLD.

    Didn’t get to say it properly – but it really felt like seeing an old friend, I am absolutely giddy to have met you in person. Next time you’re in town, I hope to be able to open up my home to you and other friends so we can sit around, relax, talk, drink, laugh… without being kicked out of a tea joint at closing!

  4. Glad I got to see you briefly at the dinner by the U. I’m officially saving money and vacation time to make my way to your corner of the world. I can’t wait!

  5. Wish we had more time to chat. It was great to meet you finally, though! Come on….no more MN in winter??

  6. (I am never going back to the Midwest in the winter again!)

    Amazingly, I say that every year, and yet somehow I keep managing to find myself dragged back for the holidays.

    Glad you had a good time though! :3


Leave a Reply

Categories

